#Bookblogger, reviews

Asking for a Friend by Andi Osho

Hi Lovelies

Another review for you today and this one I felt was on point. It was funny, had some epic conversations between friends and did have the best relationships between three totally different people. Andi Osho wrote a book that I felt I could also watch on the big screen as a three part television show, and become a firm favourite of mine that I would watch over and over again.

Many thanks to HQ Stories for sending me an advanced reader copy of the book to read and review. All thoughts and opinions on this review post are my own.


Asking for a Friend

by Andi Osho

Published: 4th February 2021

Publisher: HQ Stories

Genre: Contemporary fiction/comedy


Goodreads Blurb

No woman gets left behind

Three best friends are going to solve their relationship woes once and for all

Forty-something Jemima’s life is on track – well, sort of. All she has to do is muster the courage to bat her niggly ex away for good.

Twenty-something Meagan is in the midst of her five-phase plan and is nearly ready for phase three – a relationship.

While thirty-something Simi has had more it’s not yous than any I dos.

Deciding it’s time to play the dating game by their own rules, they’re going to ditch the dating apps and ask people out in real life. The catch? They’re playing matchmaker and can only ask out potential dates for each other because the most important rule is that no woman gets left behind.

Comedian Andi Osho’s hilarious and uplifting debut novel features her trademark wit and is perfect for fans of Candice Carty-Williams, Lucy Diamond and Mhairi McFarlane.


My Thoughts

If you need a book that will make you cry with laughter at points and ones that will have you reaching out to text your best friend then look no further than Asking for a Friend by Andi Osho.

As soon as I read the blurb for this book I needed to read it. I was kindly sent a copy from the publisher to read and review and let me tell you I am off to buy a copy as well as owning the arc. The book at times had me in stitches, the characters Jemima, Megan and Simi are literally girlfriend goals. Ones that have you back no matter what and when they have an argument you know that they are all getting ready for a fight BUT they soon realise the love they have for one another outshines everything.

The characters, Jemima, Megan and Simi couldn’t be any different but they have found that they can’t live without one another and are each others support network through the good, the bad and the ugly -yes I am looking at Simi here for this with her questionable choices.

The books main focus is about their friendship and how they each overcome their own internal struggles together and as a group. They hurt another along the way, they grow as people and they also may find love not only for themselves for a significant other.

Normally in a book like this I usually dislike one character and favour another however I found that Andi Osho has written all three characters superbly and I loved them all. I will admit however that Megan takes the top spot by the slightest of margins but that is because she is the one I felt that had the biggest growth in the book. I also liked how she described her partners penis – this literally had me cackling then sending my friends the paragraph in who then also cackled.

It was nice to read a book that even though talked about romance and was part the focus of the book it didn’t get in the way of the characters. I mean at times it was hilarious but it was also real for young females and males today. Some are searching for that one but others are searching for multiples and I loved how open Andi Osho spoke about sex in the book and that all three to a degree embraced their female sexuality and wasn’t ashamed of it.

I loved Todd, Megan’s – shall we say shag buddy. He clearly wanted more but never pushed Megan until she was ready to face the fact that she liked him and when he was dating someone else she didn’t like it. She had to come to the conclusion on here own and I applaud Andi Osho for creating Todd.

The book totally focuses on these three women who empowered each other. They had each others backs and even though at times they could be vicious towards one another they also loved so fiercely it made me reach out to my best friend.

EXCELLENT book, I cannot wait to see more from Andi Osho, and hopefully see this come to the screen at some point.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.